Attosecond Science - The art of making electron movies


Building 3, room De Donato - h. 17:30

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2023 was awarded jointly to Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier “for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter.”

After 22 years since the first experimental demonstration of attosecond pulses, the Attosecond Science has become a very active field of research, with prominent applications in atomic, molecular and solid-state physics.

The introduction of new attosecond experimental techniques, together with the development of sophisticated theoretical methods for the interpretation of the experimental outcomes, allowed unravelling and investigating physical processes never observed before.

Experimental advances, in terms of new sources, devices and techniques, are still required, together with new theoretical tools and approaches, but attosecond physics has firmly established as a mature research field.